Saturday, December 1, 2012

USD Toreros repeat as PFL Champions

San Diego 34, Marist 10
POUGHKEEPSIE, NY (12/01/12) For the second consecutive season and the fifth time in school history, the San Diego Toreros (8-3; 7-1 PFL) earn the Pioneer Football League championship.

The Toreros share the title with Butler and Drake who also finished 7-1 in PFL play. It's the second three-way tie in league history.
A 23-yard Mason Mills pass to Reggie Bell put the Toreros up 20-3 late in the second half, but Marist (4-7; 3-5 PFL) refused to go down without a fight. 
On the next possession, the Red Foxes needed just two plays to score their only touchdown of the game. Junior quarterback Chuckie Looney found his senior receiver Mike Rios for a 39-yard completion, then he targeted him again for a 36-yard touchdown.

The Toreros led 20-10 at halftime.
After a scoreless third quarter, USD would go on to put up 14 unanswered points in the fourth to end the 2012 season on a six -game win streak.

Impact Toreros
Junior QB Mason Mills
23/34 for 422 yards and two touchdowns
Sophomore WR Reggie Bell
Seven catches for 143 yards and two touchdowns

Junior LB Blake Olario
Four sacks, 4.5 tackles for losses, and four QB hurries
Impact Red Fox
Senior WR Mike Rios
10 catches for 205 yards and one touchdown
USD Record: Field Goals in a single season
Ernie Collins 16 (2012)
Dave Bergmann 14 (1989)
Twitter Reactions
Media Coverage

No comments:

Post a Comment